2011 has been very very good to me

Posted: December 28, 2011 in Uncategorized

As the year closes I have been taking the time to sit back and reflect on the year that was. All in all 2011 was a watershed year in my life and subsequently my career. The year began with hope and promise as many do, at the time I was unaware of the impending roller coaster both in my business and in the market.

The year starts with hope, promise, new relationships and vigor. As January led into February I was personally convinced that 2011 was going to be the year of my life. I had a brand new relationship with an established accountant, I was presiding over a networking group that was finally showing signs of life, and most importantly my younger brother was getting his life back on track after a long fight with addiction. But as we learn not all that glitters is gold.

As the January led into February and tax season began I started to notice some kinks in the metal. My home run accountant was not what I thought, the market volatility was keeping me up at night and for the first time in a long time I was not so sure about some of my choices.

Since I started in the business  of financial planning/advisory my goal has always been to provide my clients with top-notch advice and service. I learned quickly however not everyone shares my philosophy. After about 2 month of working with my new accounting partner I learned that churning out a commission to sustain a lifestyle was the number one goal of this accountant. Suddenly my “home run” had turned into quite a problem.

As the relationship began to sour so did the market. Greece was rearing its ugly head, debt ceiling fights we dominating the news, and volatility was dominating the conversation and keeping my clients scared out of their fucking minds. Uncertainty in the market was driving the uncertainty in my business. There was no training or chart for me  to turn to in this instance this was for me to figure out and for me to fix.

The decision to move on is never an easy one. When a relationship goes south whether in business or in life there is plenty of blame to go around. But if you can look back and honestly tell yourself that you did all you could there is no reason to hang your head.

My long-winded point is that even though the year started with such hope and promise nothing in this life is guaranteed. Whether in relationships or markets there is going to be peaks and valleys. I am proud to say that this year ended right where it began with hope and promise going into the new year. I learned more in 2011 than I ever could imagine, I grew personally and professionally and am ready to move on to 2012 with even more vigor than I did in 2011. And even though everything did not work out as planned I can honestly say thank  you.

Leave a Reply

