Christopher Hitchens..Farewell

Posted: December 16, 2011 in Uncategorized

I write today with a heavy heart. Though we never crossed path’s I am comfortable to call Christopher Hitchens a friend. As an aspiring writer/blogger I was very fortunate to come across the writings of Christopher Hitchens when I did. Many of his thoughts and idea’s were considered sacreligious, racist and blasphomous.For me it was his delivery and belief in himself that I found inspiring. As humans we find out what we are all about when we are cornered by others.Will we stand up and fight or will we run away. I am of the belief that if you do not stand for something you will fall for anything. Christopher Hitchens never shied away from controversy or a good fight. In the eye of many he was different, a man without a clue some would say. I see it a tad different, the man opened doors and eyes alike. Many of us never have what it take’s to be our own person and follow our own beliefs, not Christopher Hitchens. For those of you who are unaware, Hitchens had very strong beliefs and he was not scared to speak them. A hardline Atheist, who was open to the belief that you could wish god existed but would never acknowledge its presence as an absolute, hardline supporter of the Iraq War after bashing Kissinger and Vietnam years before, a believer in the eradication of fundamentalist Islam, and rather unapproving voice against those who in his mind abused religion ie. Mother Teresa, he never would shy away from controversy. Whether it was his criticisms of religion, god, politics, economics, or culture Hitchens had a delivery about him that made you listen. I can’t say that I agree with everything that the man wrote but I respect the path he took to deliver his opinions. Through the use of sarcasm, he made seemingly untouchable subjects easy targets. The institutions we have come to know and respect were simply no match for the man. Many people despised him for his opinions. However in this day and age I cannot think of a more important writer this world need’s a dash of realism every so often. Hitchens opened my eyes to a different way of thinking and doing, I will always remember the first time I saw him as a guest on Real Time with Bill Mahr, as soon as his segment was done I began reading his works, needless to say I was hooked,finally a writer who for lack of a better word was a wise ass who spoke to me and my beliefs. Many find it hard to believe that someone so against the “grain” was able to influence as many people as he did, to that I say; take a look around today’s blogosphere; Christopher Hitchens was a rock star. In the world of writing he was Hendrix,Morrison, Wallace and Shakur all rolled into one,  a touch of controversy, balls, talent, brains, and humor. Farewell my friend you will be missed.

Leave a Reply

